The new Texas law prohibiting texting while driving goes into effect on September 1st. Texas is the 47th state to pass a texting while driving law.
Prior to this law going into effect, there was not a statewide ban on texting while driving but many local governments had their own laws about using mobile devices while driving. The laws were not always consistent with each other.
Be aware that if you get a ticket for texting while driving you will face a fine of $25 to $99 for the first offense.
The law makes it illegal to “read, write, or send an electronic message while operating a motor vehicle unless the vehicle is stopped.”
In 2016, 455 people were killed and over 3,000 severely injured due to driver inattention.